Storing my Résumé Source with GitHub

Off the back of a recent hard-drive death, I was forced to reinstall LaTeX on a shiny new version of Ubuntu. Whilst doing it, I got interested in the chatter happening in Google+ around LaTeX. I saw a few posts discussing the idea of hosting collaborative efforts in research paper production via GitHub, which struck me as a very clever thing to do.

Since my PhD efforts in the early 2000s, I’ve religiously stored my LaTeX documents in a local Subversion, and more recently in Git repositories. My LaTeX documents also include my résumé. It struck me that I could just upload the resume production scripts and source to GitHub. Then, I’ll (theoretically) never have to worry about a hard drive failure ever seriously threatening my resume history ever again.

So there you have it. If you’re interested in seeing what a LaTeX PDF resume production environment driven by simple perl scripts looks like, here’s mine.

Leave a Reply

