On Networking

>Today’s very short entry is a bit of a bucket for some networking support links that I’ve recently stumbled upon that I’ve become a big fan of.

First, a Firefox addon that allows me to see at a glance how I’m tracking against my ISP quota.

Secondly, an Australian broadband speed test. This one turns out to be useful when you’re discussing expected speeds vs actual with your ISP.

Thirdly, an FTP server offered up by my ISP (iiNet) where I can pick up biggish chunks of software without it counting toward my quota. Linux ISO images look especially tempting.

Finally, an iiNet portal site. So far, the only thing that grabs me as interesting from the plethora of content there, is streaming radio media that again, doesn’t count towards my quota usage.

Network well and prosper.

Leave a Reply

